Update: Almost there!

Hello!

I know I’ve been suspiciously quiet recently, I’ve been working hard and attempting to venture outside every so often (I’m told this is healthy). I believe it’s time for an exhibition update, and as it’s been a while since the last this may ramble on a bit longer than usual but please bear with me!

Right, so the first major piece of exhibition news is that the marketing side of it is pretty much complete. I wrote an entirely separate article on this but I realised that even by my standards it was a little dry and it was duly scrapped. Myself and Jade designed some basic A5 flyers, which I have handed out to the libraries and heritage sites around Stockport.

They were much more basic than this when I originally submitted them, but Jade worked her magic and made them look much better. We ordered 1000 of the flyers and I’m happy to say that most of them have gone. We had to get creative at times (inserting them into the events guides at Bramall Hall for example), but it all helps.

I wanted to create a solid social media plan too, but as I’ve alluded to in the past social media is a bit of a turn off and in all fairness I’ve been rather busy. I’ll be hammering Facebook with scheduled posts on my next day off in order to create a bit more awareness.

Oh, we also have a reception and preview date coming up on the 17th June! Everyone is welcome to come and view the exhibition, eat and drink our nibbles and wine and hobnob with, well, us. We’ve invited the Mayor and his wife, who have confirmed their attendance and we’re keeping our fingers crossed that it will be busy.

In all honesty, whilst I’m looking forward to the reception I’m also filled with trepidation. “What if they don’t like the exhibition, or what if I’ve made a mistake?” seem like usual fears in this situation but it makes them no less valid. As Jade has pointed out, there’s nothing we can do about it now!

I’d also like to mention that Jill Trumble from the Stockport Heritage Trust (who has been helping us from day one) has agreed to provide an hour-long talk at the Stockport War Memorial Art Gallery on the 24th June at 11am. I’ve had a sneak preview and I’m really looking forward to hearing it live. We’ll have more details soon about this, so stay tuned.

In one week, we’ll be in the Artlink to begin the process of setting up the St Mary’s 200th Exhibition. It’s come around quickly, and all we can do now is hope that you all like it, or at the very least learn something new about this incredible embodiment of Stockport’s history.

Thank you for reading,

Jamie

 

 

Leave a Reply

